How To Print From Your i-Devices To Any Printer

At the time of this writing, Apple have only allowed printing from your i-Devices (meaning: iPod touch, iPad and iPhone) with iOS 4.2.1 to “Air-Print Compatible” printer(s) and they are all from HP which are

  • Photosmart e-AiO D110
  • Photosmart Wireless e-AiO B110
  • Photosmart Plus e-AiO B210
  • Photo Smart Premium e-AiO B310
  • Photosmart Premium Fax e-AiO C410
  • HP ENVY e-Aio D410
  • Photosmart eStation C510

I am currently using a Lexmark E120N network laser printer and a HP 5550 Color Inkjet that is connected to my Airport Express, again used as a network printer. So if I normally booked a flight from my iPhone and iPad I can’t print the Boarding pass nor itineraries, since I don’t own any of the printer above.

However there is a fix available for free and If you want to print to any printer from your iOS 4.2.1 devices like mine, now you can.

AirPrint Hacktivator by Netputing offers a solution for Macs owners to set up wireless printer with 4.2.1 iOS Devices ( that’s your latest iPod touch, iPhones and iPad) as long as they are shared within your network. At this time, it is only available for Mac Computers.

The Set up Requirements:

  1. Mac OSX Snow Leopard 10.6.5
  2. iTunes 10.1
  3. i-Devices with iOS 4.2.1 (update your latest iPad, iPod touch or iPhone to the latest software update in iTunes)
  4. Copy of the AirPrint Activator software download here. (Save to your desktop and unzip then copy it to your Application Folder)

To activate AirPrint:

1. Launch the AirPrint Activator that is now residing in your Application folder
2. Turn on the toggle switch:

3. Since you are the administrator of your Mac enter your admin password and username like below:

4. Click the OK button
5. Go to your System Preferences and click on Print and Fax
6. Delete your printer(s)
7. Re-add your printer(s)
8. Make sure you tick “Share This printer on the network”

9. Exit the program the System Preferences and the AirPrint Activator by clicking “Quit”

Now go to your iPhone / iPod Touch or iPad and open up Safari for testing, like image below

Click on Print and choose the printer(s) from the list by tapping “Printer”, you are now ready to have paper spitting out from your printer.

Save paper = save trees, only print when it is absolutely necessary.

As always if you’d like to thank me for creating these tutorials, guides, tips and/or reviews. please click on donate button on the right column to help keep this running, Thank you.
Have fun!

Marcus Hwang
3 comments on “How To Print From Your i-Devices To Any Printer

  1. jay says:

    Hi
    I’ve just come across this post as I have an E120n and am thinking of getting an iPad.
    However, I don’t have a mac so do you know if it’s now possible with iOS 5 to print *directly* from the iPad to the E120n (which is on the same network as my wi-fi access point)?

    appreciate any help/advice
    thanks,

  2. r0gu3 says:

    Hi Jay,
    the straight answer is No, it is not possible to print without OSX Snow Leopard.

    Regards,

  3. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any
    widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest
    twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this
    for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would
    have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

Leave a Reply

